the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Now I Can Really Hear You 1149

06.20.2006

5:48 pm

First, I got my hair cut this morning, and it's nice and short but not shorn, and Ray who cuts my hair put stuff in it and made it spiky, a little, and showed me how to do it, so maybe I can. A hairstyle that would definitely look better if I dropped 20 pounds, but it's just what I wanted and I like it.

And then he offered K a job, if she wants it, to be the receptionist in his salon. Maybe a good thing; we'll see. She'll decide. She has another iron or two in the fire as well. (She's looking for something she can still do part-time once graduate school starts in January.)

After that, I went to get my hearing aids looked at, and damned if the audiologist didn't just give them a really thorough cleaning with all her instruments and stuff and now they're just fine. Amazing. I'm hearing stuff that I'd forgotten even made noise. Everything is so sharp and clear that it makes me jump. I was startled in the car, for example, to remember that the turn signal makes that clicking noise, since I don't generally hear that anymore. But the best part is that the icky staticky noise that I would hear once I got about halfway into my house is gone. Which means I can keep the aids on now while I watch television. So, good news there.

And I even got a reward today for being such a good girl. Later in the afternoon, K and I went to the Apple store to pick out her graduation gift, which is a new Mac laptop. Get this. Since R and I bought our Macs (in Feburary and April), they have come out with a new model that is faster and cheaper, and which came today with the promotion of a free printer and ... wait for it ... a free iPod. Yes, their promotion of the moment is that college students get free iPods when they buy a computer. It seems that wearing a college t-shirt and telling the guy that you graduated last month still counts. If you have a college ID card in your wallet, you're in. The free iPod was a Nano, but with that and the educational discount, I added less than a hundred dollars and got a 30G video iPod instead. Because that, ladies and gentlemen, is my graduation present. I woke up today hoping that I wouldn't have to lay out a few thou for new hearing aids, and I don't. Somehow, I feel like I made money on the deal today. I know that I paid less for K's computer with all its bells and whistles than I did on mine. Score.

Got a call from my firstborn a little bit ago, who had thrown her back out. Which would totally be not a big deal, except she's going on vacation tomorrow for two weeks to the U.K. Could be a nasty plane ride. But she got an appointment with a chiropracter for early tomorrow; hopefully she'll feel much better after that. As Roseanne Roseannadanna said: "It's always something."

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Rocko's Modern Life
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here