the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

My Head is Exploding 1150

06.21.2006

8:17 pm

I have got the headache. This is from not eating dinner yet, running around in the crazy heat (it's really not that hot today), dealing with an idiot at the Apple store, and oh, fighting the Turnpike traffic to the airport. Not to mention the fact the cats are up everybody's collective ass and I'm a little over the edge with the offspring at the moment.

There ... that's better.

Like the Seinfeld episode, I'm going to start at the end and go backwards. We just picked up K's new Mac laptop, and there are already issues. She's getting frustrated, but snips at me when I try to help her. Greeeaaat. It's a nice thing that the Apple store will transfer your files from your old computer for you, but they never really seem to get it right. Somehow, the hard drive on the new computer seems to be already full, which is virtually impossible. Itunes wouldn't even import all her music files. So I guess we'll need to go back to the store tomorrow.

Before that, she and I took R to the airport; she's going to visit friends in the UK for a couple of weeks. So that was the Turnpike during rush hour. Greeeaaat. There was no traffic on the way back and we got her there in plenty of time, but still. Who needs that crap?

Before which we went to the Apple store -- I'm starting to hate typing those words -- to pick up the computer at the appointed hour, and a totally bitchy salesperson there made us insane with her rudeness. We got it, it's not ready. Be a human being, would you? And that was after cruising the parking lot forever. Doesn't anybody in the world have a job? How can there be so many people at the mall on a weekday afternoon?

Oh, and R left her car here, so when I got home I was juggling all the cars around and put hers in the garage. I picked up a plastic bin to move it out of the way and there was a little furry visitor in there! A mouse! The garage is fortunately not attached to the hosue, or I would be freaking the hell out. As long as I didn't touch it. But I know it's there.

I don't even want to turn around and see K working on her brand new toy, all frustrated, behind me. Frankly, I think she didn't clean out her documents before leaving them to be moved. Among other things, there were a ton of temp files. I had told her ahead of time to put all the files to be moved in one folder, which she did. It never occurred to me to tell her to take out stuff that didn't need to be moved, like PC applications. Even so, she's trashing stuff like mad and the available HD space is going down. Hmmm. Looks like it's back to the hmmmmm hmmmmm tomorrow.

I went for physical therapy for my elbow this morning, which went well. More on that tomorrow, perhaps.

What I need now most is sleep. Sadly, I have a kid flying to Europe tonight. So we all pretty much know how that's gonna go.

I'm going to go eat something now. I hope it's ice cream.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching I have no idea
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here