the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

A Calmer Day 1151

06.22.2006

7:02 pm

I did not have ice cream for dinner last night (although I had a nice Cookies-n-Cream cone a couple of hours ago); I had a veggie burger. Which was actually quite good, although it did require me to cook it first, as opposed to putting a frozen meal in the microwave or better yet, buying food somewhere. Really, my eating habits have gone to hell. Gotta work on that.

R text-messaged around 5:30 this morning to say she had landed -- I happened to be up, of course -- and called around 8:00 from her friend's house in London. I actually did sleep last night, and relatively well for me, but not for long enough, since I can pretty much never do that. I did doze again between 5:30 and, let's say, 7:00, but not really sleep.

I talked to the ILs around 9:00 so they would know the kid had arrived, and shortly thereafter headed out for The Apple Store. Yes, I dare whisper its name. But today, well ... no bitch in sight, and the delightful Apple Adam, a techie who's helped me before, devoted an entire hour to solving the problem on K's computer and getting iTunes all set up to work. He was just a doll. (And a cutie, I might add. You realize that he's maybe 23 years old.) For much of the time, the computer was just loading or installing stuff, so we just chatted. He even gave me the name of a shareware program to use for something we were talking about, which you know they are totally not supposed to do there. All in all, very pleasant, other than that I started taking a diuretic today to help with my blood pressure, so, hmmmmm. The mile-drive home from the mall was a long one today.

I also went for a facial this afternoon. Listen ladies, find yourself someone good to give you a facial because this is the most cost-efficient decadent experience you can find. I was in total heaven, and am still pretty relaxed from it five hours later. I do this, I guess, three or four times a year. It's the tops.

What else? More physical therapy tomorrow. Oh, so I went yesterday; the PT introduces himself and says "Hello. I am Umberto, but some people call me their torturer." Oh yeah, heh heh. Then he reached out his hand and shook mine in a firm grip and I practically fell over onto the floor. "Does that hurt?" he asked. Uh ... yeah. I actually thought he was pretty amusing, and he did need to ascertain where the pain was somehow. His probing of the muscle hurt, and so did the ultrasound and the ice, and then the deep tissue massage. But let me tell you, I walked out of that place with no pain whatsoever, so I'm totally down with Umberto's brand of torture. Looking forward to more tomorrow.

So I just put up the water to boil for macaroni and cheese. I'm having happy food tonight.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching The Simpsons
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here