the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

And By the Way 1152

06.23.2006

7:37 pm

Apropos of nothing, I was thinking about that AFI list of inspirational movies that they showed on TV last week and about the films that should have been listed and weren't, and I just realized that they did not include The Knute Rockne Story anywhere on the list. WTF? Win one for the Gipper? Come on! It's absurd to begin with that they didn't include, say Going My Way, but Ronald Reagan's big role, the one that brings tears to a grown man's eyes?

We went to Target today, and Ikea, and I went to physical therapy again. The other day, I found it a little hard to read while the electric current and whatnot were shooting through my arm, but it does require sitting there for 15 minutes like a good little girl, so today I brought my new toy, the video iPod, and watched an episode of The Office, which was just a nice distraction. Again, a fun toy. I just got some software I ordered that lets me copy a file off a DVD -- not a purchased one that has copy protection -- and convert it for the iPod. Luckily for me, I also record TV shows and movies on the DVD recorder, and those copy and translate over just fine. Hee hee. More fun for me.

Also this morning, I re-packed and consolidated all of R's stuff that's sitting in the living room, so that's a little better. With any luck, by the time she comes home from her trip, two of her roommates will have moved out -- that's a long story -- and she'll have room in her apartment to take a lot of this stuff. I'm keeping my fingers crossed.

Two of her roommates are an engaged couple who have proven to be not great roommates, and the landlady especially does not like them for several reasons and has asked them to move. They're a little annoyed, which I can understand, and the girl has pretty much stopped speaking to R and the fourth roommate. Which would be an oh-well-what-can-you-do thing, except she did talk to them one evening when she measured them for bridesmaid gowns for her wedding. So that's weird. R and the staying roommate are pretty much figuring that if the bride-to-be doesn't talk to them once she moves and doesn't maintain a friendship, well then, what are they doing flying out to the midwest for her wedding the day after Thanksgiving? And who can blame them. Unless your bridesmaids are dear old friends or family members, I think you at least have to be speaking to them to get them to go the extra mile and actually be your bridesmaids, no?

The ILs are coming by tomorrow, which they rarely do anymore because the driving is hard on them for the distance, but the MIL has a bridal shower to go to and the FIL is going to hang out with the Hubs and an uncle in town, if I can understand his always rather complicated plans. And then we'll go out to dinner with them, and K. The FIL suggested that if we want, we can just order in Chinese and eat in the house, but my house is just too congested right now with no place to move stuff, so there's really no place for five people to sit and eat. There's no dining room, and way too much stuff all over and around the kitchen table (where we almost never sit and eat), and with the living room full, there's no place to put it all. Out sounds like a much better plan.

I got a replacement part for my hearing aid today, but either the audiologist ordered the wrong one -- which is most likely -- or they shipped the wrong one, but it doesn't fit. I didn't get it until she was already gone for the day, so I'll have to wait until Monday. It's the part that causes all the static, and although she cleaned it, it is worn out, and sometimes I still get it, or it winks off and on randomly until I touch it and it makes contact again. I do hope that someday there are hearing aids I can get that aren't as complicated as what I've always had to wear. At least this pair isn't connected by a wire that goes around the back of my head. My head is small (apparently) and I could never get a short enough wire, so it always hung down a bit onto my neck, and would sometimes get caught in the chain I wear. That was annoying. But the wireless ones connect by radio frequency, which is why I get the static and interference sometimes.

I was very, very tired all day today, although I slept well for the five or six hours I slept. I don't know what's up with that. It was as if I was drained of all energy.

Okay, I'm going to crash now ...

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Entertainment Tonight
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here