the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

It's Always Something 1153

06.24.2006

1:37 pm

I'm thinking of putting this picture at the top of every entry from now on, with the caption "It's always something."

So R calls from London last night to say that something flew into her eye and she thinks her cornea may be scratched, and does our health insurance cover her there? Well, when she lived there, she was part of the U.K.'s medical system through her college, but now, really, no idea. I told her to go an emergency room and we'd worry about any payment afterwards. She called again this morning to say that she was much better, it's a small scratch on the cornea, and the doctor gave her antibiotic drops and drops for pain. Oh, and by the way, no charge. So I don't get how that happened, but as long as she's okay, that's all I care about.

The east coast is under heavy rain for a few days, as I understand it, and the ILs started out on their journey north this morning but turned back, which was a brilliant idea on their part. The poor MIL does not like to drive and never has, and always hated driving the big cars that the FIL insisted upon for himself, but now he can't drive at all, but still needs a big car to accomodate his size, so she's stuck doing all the driving in a car she doesn't like to drive. Opting out of a rainy drive was definitely a good choice for today. Looks like I cleaned for nothing, though.

K is going on a job interview Monday afternoon at a local Giant Jeans Conglomerate, so keep your fingers crossed. She'd like a permanent part-time job that she can keep once she goes back to school. And so would I. (For her, not for me.)

The rest of today looks slow and quiet, which pretty much describes me these days. I have laundry to fold and perhaps I'll read, if it doesn't put me to sleep. I felt like I needed a nap this morning at 10:00, which I didn't get today, but which I have been known to take on occasion.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Saved (the movie)
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here