the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Just Bleaaah 1154

06.25.2006

8:33 pm


It's always something.

It's a kvetchy sort of day. I did not take the pill that makes me sleep last night, as the doctor has given me something else to try instead. It's not a sleeping pill, but an anti-anxiety pill, which tells me that he thinks I don't sleep because my mind is racing and I can't settle down to sleep. In fact, that's the only sleep problem I don't have, but what the hell, I tried it, I'll try it again tonight. I sort of slept, since I would occasionaly be aware of the passage of time, but I felt that I was awake for most of the night, until about two or three. I napped off and on all afternoon anyway.

Somehow I woke up with a cramp or a spasm or something across my upper back, which is most unusual, since I'm a lower-back-pain sort of gal, so that's been annoying, and some other crap where my chest hurts when I take a deep breath. I think that's probably some gastric reflux or thing like that, because if it were a heart problem, I'd know by now. I think I would have known at least partway through my walk through Ikea this morning.

If you didn't know what kvetchy meant, you know now. Aren't you glad you stopped by?

This morning included a trip to the Ikea at Elizabath Seaport (which is across the highway from Newark Airport), and then to a big mall called Jersey Gardens which is right around the corner from Ikea. You may recall that there is an Ikea a mile from my house and that we were there Friday, but they didn't have the quilt cover we were looking for in the right size. And our stores in this county are not open on Sunday, so we tend to take rides to neighboring areas to shop on Sunday. Sunday morning is actually a great shopping time, as most places are still basically empty.

We got home at 1:00 and walked in as the phone rang. It was R, safely at her second destination -- Cardiff -- and reporting that she had arrived and that her eye is fine. She's still using the drops the doctor gave her, but she says it's as if nothing ever happened to it. Good news there. As for the treatment being free, I have a feeling that a bill will be forthcoming, which I'll be happy to pay. I guess I'll get the details when she comes home, which will be July 4. (Actually July 3 just before midnight, but we must always assume that planes will not be on time.)

I did sleep off and on most of this rainy afternoon, mostly to flatten out my back on a heating pad, but the actual sleep was also nice. I have physical therapy tomorrow morning, and then I need to go back to the audiologist about exchanging the wrong part they sent me for the right one. And a bazillion little other things to do. Especially hoping that K gets that job tomorrow afternoon. She's a good interview, something I know from colleagues at school who interviewed her there for various honors over her high school years, and I know she's a confident interview. She's also, dare I say, cute as a button, and wears the clothes of the Giant Jeans Conglomerate and their associated stores very well, and has selected an outfit to wear composed entirely of their stuff.

My kids have had some interesting jobs over the years in retail, which is not a set of skills that I possess, but they are very good at it. Each of them has worked in what used to be called "a record store", a neat job for a kid, although R worked in The Great Big Record Store Chain and K worked in The Little Neighborhood Record Store That Used to Be a Giant Chain and Now Is Out of Business. R worked in The Giant Bookstore serving coffee in the cafe, and also, one Christmas vacation, in the Wicker and Other Crap chain store. She actually had an opportunity to work in a branch of the Wicker and Other Crap chain store in Cardiff, but passed it up in favor of drawing pints in the local pub. A much better choice, I think.

Anyway, I have managed to sneak-watch both of my kids at work at various times, and they are really quite good at it. Very polite to customers, very knowledgeable about stock, very efficient. I worked in a fabric store in high school, and I was very shy with customers. I'm not saying that this is their life's work, but it is nice to see that they have a work ethic and put in a good day's work for their pay, and that they're good at it. Hope she gets that job! (And it comes with a twice-a-year family discount day, I understand. Yum.)

So that's my Sunday. I'll let you know how it went tomorrow, I hope.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Dateline
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here