the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Time: Not On My Side 1155

06.26.2006

7:19 pm



It's always something.

One of my particular mental blocks is that I can't really tell the difference between pints, quarts, and gallons. I mean, I know which is the smallest and which is the biggest, but I have no idea whether there are two pints in a quart or four, and so on. I always figure I was absent the day they taught that in third grade -- maybe it was when I had the measles -- and I just never caught up.

I cannot ever understand the differences between time zones. Even when I know roughly what they are, I can't get it to make sense to me. I know, for example, that London is five hours ahead of us and California is three hours behind. Those are the only time differences I ever really need to knowk, and I know them, I just don't get them. When my kids were living in Europe, I had clocks on my desk that showed the time in 24-hour format, and one was labeled Cardiff, the other Berlin. It was the only thing that worked.

I've mentioned my nephew the sportswriter, who also has a local sports radio call-in show on Saturday nights. I only realized a few hours ago that his brother has a radio show, too -- there's an odd coincidence -- which is broadcast on a college radio station in San Diego. Apparently, he's being scouted, if that's the right word, for a possible national radio show. (Not sports, though; this one is more a Howurd Sturn-type personality.) I went to his website, where it said I could listen to his show via Internet, and it starts at 10 PM Pacific Standard Time on Mondays.

At 7:00 PM Eastern Time, I clicked the link. I heard lots and lots of music, but no Jefferson Jay (that's his stage name.) Now, he's also a musician, and is in fact opening for Michael MacDonald and Steely Dan next month, but I didn't think he was playing on the air, just talking. Where was my boy?

Ah. Of course. The three hour time difference only works one way, doesn't it? I would have to listen to him at 1:00 AM, not 7:00 PM. Duh.

(I had a crazy moment two years ago, after K and I had arrived in London and were on the train to Cardiff, and the time difference just somehow flipped backwards for me and I thought I had been awake for two days, or something like that. I was very tired, but it was more the not quite getting the time thing, not the exhaustion. I got panicky because I couldn't account for all the hours that seemed to have elapsed. I needed a nap.)

In other news, I have a painter coming to give an estimate on Wednesday, and some other guy coming to pick up the removed closet doors tomorrow night. So we're making some progress here.

Tomorrow is my sister's last day of work. Ever. That's pretty cool, I think.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Friends
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here