the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

WTF? 1264

10.18.2006

6:56 pm


First of all, this. If you had any doubts about this being the current Fall of the Roman Empire, this is it. Now people are afraid to let their children be children? No wonder there's an obesity epidemic; people are afraid that if their children move, they might be bruised. Sheesh.

In other news, Mr. My-Door-Is-Always-Open tells me that we are moving not next week, but the week after, and that he hopes the new library will be fully functional no later than Thanksgiving, at the latest. Well, that would be nice. Everything remains to be seen.

It seems I was not missed at Back to School Night last night, which I didn't expect to be. They get more pissed off at people who take the day off today, as in, everybody else was here last night and managed to be here on time today except them. Whatever. One year, I was really sick (but in school) on the day of BTS Night, and I asked the then-principal if it was more important for me to be there that night (even though people rarely come to the library) or to be there the next day. He said to be there at night, so I was, and then I was so sick that I missed the rest of the week. Priorities, people!

I like Wednesdays, except for them being my late day at school, because I get a nice day with my own personal kids after work. We got some take-out Thai food tonight, so that both K and the Hubs can have something when they get home from work, and then it's good TV for the girls and me. I could pass on Top Model, but I watch it with them, and then Lost, and then tonight, the season finale of Project Runway! How did I get so sucked into that show (which I totally love)?

(If you're a Runway watcher, you'll love this. I mentioned to my OldFriend a couple of weeks ago that I'm hooked on this show, and asked if she watched it. I should have known that it would be hard for her; she's somewhat fragile, but is also a graduate of F.I.T. -- The Fashion Institute of Technology, which is a real college in the New York State University system -- in the late 70s, which means that she had a ton of close, close friends who were designers and gay and were basically wiped out in the early years of AIDs, so the show would remind her painfully of them and that time. Well, that part is more tragic than anything, but I was telling her about the show, and when I said I loved Tim Gunn, she said "Oh, he lives down the block from me." !!!!!!!!!!!! She says she knows him to say hello to if they're walking past each other, but not otherwise; even so, I thought that was so cool. She's always telling me about famous people who she sees walking around or who come into her antique shop, and who's nice and who's not.)

Anyway, R had also expressed a desire to drop by Tower Records today and see if they have good sales going on yet, since they're closing down the whole chain any minute now. That was one of her first real jobs, at this Tower, other than being a camp counselor. As sales go, it pretty much sucked. 20% off of everything, but everything was overpriced to start with, so, nothing worth picking up there today.

The Incision That Will Not Heal is still ... well, not healed, but I'm going to yoga tomorrow anyway. But it is pretty damn annoying. It would probably heal better if I didn't gain five pounds of fat a day and keep stretching it (sorry, TMI), but there you go.



--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Veronica Mars
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here