the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Wake Up! 1265

10.19.2006

5:06 pm

I need to wake up! I am potentially sliding into a funk and I don' wanna, and I have got to pull myself out before I go in. As it is, I'm eating everything that doesn't eat me first, and I think I'm not going to the gym tonight, which I should. Some days I feel just a little bitty bit depressed and then, and it could be twenty minutes later, I'm like, "Oh, I'm not gonna worry about that; everything's fine!" I swear, if I start manifesting my mother's bipolarism, I will be pissed off. Depression I can deal with (although I'd certainly rather not have to), but I saw too much of that other to want to deal with it. Not that we so much get choices on those things. I'm just saying.

I think tomorrow I will go back to my healthy breakfast, and I'm sort of good with dinners. When K is out I'll have a frozen diet meal, and when she's home I'll try to cook something healthy. (Hey, I cooked healthy twice this week! That's like, the record for me.) But I'm stumped on lunch. So I'm taking any suggestions for a nice, portable 300 calorie lunch that you can think of.

I was doing so well on the lunch salads for a few months, but that whole E. Coli thing has really put me off the greens. I guess I could bring one of my frozen meals; maybe I'll do that tomorrow. I'll check my supply before I go to the supermarket, which I'll do after I post.

The only thing I can think of for the snacking problem is to go to sleep every night at 7:00. Unfortunately, then I will sleep until 2 or 3 and then be up, so that's no good. Gotta work on that.

Had an interesting experience at work as I was leaving today. Someone I know and don't much care for pulled me over for a private conversation. Seems she remembers that she and I were both at a peculiar meeting once a few years ago, where something was discussed in a very hush-hush way, something which has now been made public as a fait accompli that will change the basic way the school functions. This had been done at one of the Dreaded Monthly Meetings, those which I detest yet still felt dissed this year when I was no longer included on the guest list. She told me that I haven't been excluded, but that the meetings are no longer held. Interesting. It's like working in the Bush administration, where all decisions are made at the top, whence they trickle down, regardless of anyone else's knowledge. No input required from anyone else.

And we found out today that a big chunk of the new library's woefully inadequate storage space is being given away to someone else. And we only found out because I happened to be passing by people who were discussing it. I was not going to be told until I got there and found equipment already installed in my storeroom.

Curious, eh?

Well. I'm going to go buy food and then I'm going to try to start eating better tomorrow. I'm expanding these days like Aunt Marge.



--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Still Standing
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here