the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Feeling Somewhat Normal Today 1266

10.20.2006

5:24 pm

More like "at the moment" rather than "today," but I'll take it. Normal, you know, is my Holy Grail, that elusive dreamed of something that I have never quite found. I must say that since I went to therapy I'm not really looking for it especially vigorously, but still, every so often, it slips out, like it did in today's title. I don't know what normal means or is, but I'd like to be it, anyway.

I had two nice classes in today, which I enjoyed. I'm starting to plan freshman library orientation for December, which is absurdly late for most years, but a couple of months ahead of what I thought I might be doing this year. You know how I didn't get my tour of the new library last week? And when I spoke to Mr. My-Door-Is-Always-Open the other day, he said that it was unsafe for anyone to walk around the new building, so he couldn't take me until next week. I wish I had a nickel for everyone I've spoken to who's seen the new library this week. All kinds of people are walking around in there for whatever reason. Except me. Whatever. It's not going anywhere. And it is very close to done.

My incision finally seems to be healing, and I AM GOING TO YOGA TOMORROW. I AM. I AM. But I still seem to be allergic to any kind of bandage I put on it. That is very, very weird to develop such an allergy at this advanced age, no?

I'm making actual dinner tonight, that's three nights this week, so it's definitely the record. I can't get the message to K to let her know -- she never seems to check her cellphone when she leaves work -- so I'm sure she'll stop for something on her way home and then she'll have two dinners to choose from.

Really, I had much, much more to say, but the normal just knocked it right out of me. I'll be back.



--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Still Standing
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here