the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

It's Always Something 1267

10.21.2006

1:39 pm

So I went to the gym this morning. I was stretching before walking, and I fell off the end of the treadmill and heard something POP! in my right knee. I was angry, not to mention how stupid I felt, and I wanted to just go off in a corner and cry. I tried walking it off a little, since hey, athletes keep going through pain, right? I did walk on the treadmill for 30 minutes, and when I was done, turns out the yoga class started 15 minutes earlier than it was listed to start, and I missed it. (Yes, still in denial at that point.) Anyway, I talked to the head trainer and showed her my knee -- which was swollen by then -- and she said maybe I had torn a ligament (!!!!!!) and I should use ice and probably see a doctor on Monday. Since I know that my orthopedist's office would never see me if I called Monday morning, once I got home, while I had ice on it, I called right then. The doctor called me back a little later, said that ice is the right thing, probably a torn ligament or cartilege (double !!!!!!) and that when I call Monday morning, tell someone I talked to him and they will see me that day.

Shit.

So I'm mostly off my feet, hobbling with a cane when I get up, and the swelling is down some, although it hurts a lot more when I'm up. In the meantime, I just hobbled out to get the mail, and there was the letter I'd been dreading for years: my regular doctor, whom I've been seeing since the late 1970s, is retiring as of January 1.

Bummer.

Otherwise, things are hunky-dory, eh? Just when it's time to move into the new library, I won't be able to walk. I am reeeeeeally hoping that this is not a surgery thing coming up. Being a total non-athlete, I have no experience at all with this kind of thing. No idea what's coming.

So, how's your weekend going?



--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching CNN
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here