the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Are You Sitting Down? 1269

10.23.2006

6:59 pm

I mean, ARE YOU F---ING SITTING DOWN?

My tibia is fractured.

I have a broken leg.

I don't even know where to go with that. It is apparently such a small fracture that it wasn't picked up on the x-rays in the doctor's office and they sent me out with a soft brace and a promise to get an MRI approved for some time this week. By the time I got home, there was a message that they had the approval and I had to call this radiology place to make an appointment. I called; they asked what was better for me, mornings, afternoons, or evenings? I said, how about today? They had a cancellation, so I went at four. The MRI showed the fracture.

I finally got to talk to the doctor at six or so. I have to go back in tomorrow and get a hard brace, which I have to wear for two or three weeks. No cast, thank god. I can take the brace off to shower. The real question is, can I drive? I can work, for sure, but can I drive? Is there some way for me to get to work?

That all remains to be seen. The doctor said I will probably not be able to drive with the brace, but it's up to me to try if I want to. I already drove home from the gym with a broken leg, albeit one not encased in a hard brace. But as R pointed out, I have a four minute commute to work. A shower takes longer than that. So maybe, maybe, I can drive and put it back on when I get there.

I did jack shit at work for six months. Why couldn't this have happened then? We are moving into the new library NEXT WEEK, or maybe the week after. Why? Now?

I'm not so much an asker of why, because there is never an answer. It just is. This is the way it worked out for me at this time. Tomorrow, my friend's baby granddaughter is having spinal surgery, on the same day that the same friend's mother-in-law is moving into a hospice, not expected to last the week. Why? There ain't no why. There's only is.

Anyway, I will be plenty pissed off if I can't drive. I'm going into school tomorrow morning to clean things up and find things out and then I'll leave and go pick up my hard brace and see how that is.

So far, the only thing that's actually worked out for me in the last few days is that I remembered to shave my legs on Saturday, shortly before it became necessary for all kinds of people to scrutinize my legs. Go. me.



--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching VH1
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here