the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Duh 1294

11.16.2006

7:02 pm


I guess I'm not so much in writing mode these last couple of days, but there's no reason for it. The worst thing that's happened is that R still hasn't heard about the job, despite another positive interview, and she probably won't hear until after Thanksgiving. :(

K is also convinced that she may not actually be accepted into grad school, but there is no chance of this whatsoever. It's only the beaurocracy of a state school; she hasn't gotten her letter yet and when she calls, they say Give it another week. In the meantime, I think her registration will already be considered late. I don't know, maybe she found out something before class today. It's a goofy school, but then, I don't think I've ever dealt with a college/university that wasn't. (But I'm willing to bet that the Hubs had a much nicer experience at Georgetown back in the 70s.)

School. I considered taking a picture for you all today, but it's really too big a space for the phone-camera to do justice to, so I'll just wait and bring in a real camera when the books are back. Which is now scheduled for the Monday after Thanksgiving, for real, I'm told. But who ever knows if what I'm told will be valid 24 hours from now. Even so, Mr. My-Door has been lovely to me lately. It's as if all these months, since the library was being built and was out of his hands, it was also out of his thoughts, and anything I asked him was simply not important. Clearly, he could have relieved a great deal of anxiety for me if he's just shared what he knew, but okay, that ship has sailed. He's been very nice this week, very available to me when I needed to talk to him. Our current status is that we are pretty much all moved in, except our computers, which are still back In Exile because there are no network drops for them in the Real Library yet. These are going on tomorrow or Monday, and then we'll be ensconced. Although there is a shitload of stuff still to be worked on in there. It looks fine when you walk in, but then you walk around and see this problem here, this problem there. I gave Mr. My-Door a three page list of it all this morning.

They are also dicking around with the teachers who need to move into their new classrooms near the Real Library, as they did with me all those months. So far, they haven't been given release time to pack, and they don't have a deadline, not to mention boxes. The science rooms are somewhat packed because they had to be for this summer's conversion of them from labs to math rooms -- which they will be as soon as the science teachers move out -- but the social studies and English teachers haven't had the chance to make any progress at all. The Other Chai has been in her classroom for 35 years. Ya think she's got stuff to pack?

Anyway, more bizarre weather out here. Still somewhat warm, but terrible, terrible wind today, and we haven't seen the sun for days. I think it is raining now, although it didn't all day, and tomorrow, I had heard, is supposed to be cold. Not sure what that means, relatively speaking. I can recall Thanksgivings when I've carried food into the Sibs' house wearing just jeans and a t-shirt -- me, not the food -- and one year -- last year, I think -- when I stepped out of her house and into a massive cold flash, so that I sat shaking and shivering, teeth literally chattering, until I was home and in bed. It was one of the worst cold experiences of my life, and I hate the cold like poison.

Bad weather and virtually all of my loved ones out on the road is not a good combination for me. But K called before class, so I know she was safely there, at least, and there's a good chance her professor will let them out early, since he often does. I figured R was on the train from the city, and therefore safe, but she called, stuck in traffic; turns out she had driven in. Must be home by now, I'd guess. The Hubs is teaching tonight, so that's down in New Brunswick, an hour or so away via Garden State Parkway and NJ Turnpike, and the Sibs and her husband are on their way home from Rhode Island, where he works, and where she goes along with him to keep him company on the ride every Thursday. (He commutes twice a week and stays over some nights. It's about a four and half hour ride each way. And you thought you had a nasty commute.) I will be very happy when everyone is home, although I won't hear from the Sibs til tomorrow, and probably R, too.

Tomorrow night, the girls and I are going to the drama club's play at school. Both girls were very active in the club, and are still close with the advisor, a guy I'm fond of as well. The first performance, last night, got very good reviews from everyone who saw it.

Okay, I wrote. I wish it would stop raining.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Jeopardy
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here