the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Busy Week Ahead 1305

11.26.2006

6:26 pm


I've got a lot going on this week.

The biggest biggie, I guess, is that the library books are (allegedly) coming back. Monday? Wednesday? Nobody knows. I thought we had all agreed with the movers that it would be Monday, tomorrow, but for some reason, the principal thinks it's Wednesday. I guess by 8:00 tomorrow morning, I'll know, one way or the other. Keeping my fingers crossed for tomorrow.

In the meantime, I have to make some phone calls during the day tomorrow to arrange for my car to be serviced and to clear up some other matters. I'm hoping that I can leave my car after school tomorrow and get it back Tuesday or Wednesday afternoon. Hate being without my car.

The newest crisis is that K is freaking out over not hearing from grad school yet, and you know, she's right. This semester is over in three weeks. She met all the deadlines, but gets a runaround from the grad office when she calls. So the plan is that on Tuesday, when she has a day off from work, I will take a half personal day in the afternoon and the two of us will storm the campus. If the grad school still doesn't give us a satisfactory answer -- which would be an official letter of acceptance and permission to register -- we will go to the education department office and hopefully get some help there and possibly meet an advisor so she knows what classes to take. Why am I going with her when she's a big girl and should be doing this herself? Ah, well, that's the question. The simple answer is that she's not aggressive, and if the grad school says Wait a few days, she'll cry, but she'll wait. Experience tells me that we will need to perservere, which I will do. The other answer though, is that I know people in the ed. department, and I'm hoping that I can say to someone "Oh hi, you know me; can you help us out here and find out what's going on?" According to their website, the head advisor for her program is someone who was a professor of mine a few years ago, and one of the other advisors was not only mine when I was in the grad program in the late 90s, she was also my advisor for student teaching. (Okay, yes, it was 1975. What counts is that she's still there.) So, keeping our fingers crossed for Tuesday. The college is not in the habit of turning down qualified applicants, just of screwing around with them.

Wednesday there's no school for me -- which is why I'm hoping for the books on Monday -- as I have a mammogram in the morning and the orthopedist in the afternoon.

And with any luck, R will hear good job news this week, too.

Oh, I'm getting a cold, btw, my post-nasal drip is running like a faucet, because, you know, timing is everything.

So that's the plan. I'll let you know how it works out.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching True Hollywood Story
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here