the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Best Laid Plans 1306

11.27.2006

4:48 pm


You knew this would happen, didn't you?

After I laid out the week's plans in yesterday's diary entry, I went to sleep like a good little girl, only I didn't really sleep, as per usual, except off and on, and when I got up at 5:45, baby, I was sick. Nobody wants the graphic details (as per the rules of Poop Club) but I somehow continued to believe that I would yet get to work, and I showered and dressed (but had no coffee) and then realized I couldn't put my make-up on because I kept breaking out in sweat, and after the seventh or eighth bathroom emergency in an hour, I had to accept that I was just not going to get there. Good news for K, because that meant she didn't have to carve an extra ten minutes out of her morning to drive me there, my car still having a window stuck open.

So she toddled off at 7:30, only to come right back because something was wrong with her brakes. A wise decision on her part. So I drove her to work in my freezing car, hoping that I could manage without the bathroom for twenty minutes, which I did. During the course of the next hour, I


  • Found out that the library books were not coming back today,

  • Managed to get K's car to the garage without being killed, and

  • Found out that the library books in fact were coming back today.

I spoke to the SCM over the course of the day several times, as he reported the progress of the shelving and everything else. It seems that today we got our computer and phone hook-ups, and circulation desk. (More on that after I've seen it.) It was a big day, I guess. I can't believe I wasn't there.

Tummy-wise, most of the day was not good, not at all, but it seems to have settled down a little now. All that remains is to hear from the mechanic that we can pick up the car.

And now I'm running again ...

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Ellen
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here