the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

As the Stomach Turns 1307

11.28.2006

6:58 pm


Just kidding, couldn't resist. I was always a big Carol Burnett fan.

For most of the day, I was feeling much better than yesterday although not all better, but at the moment, I would have to say that all better comes closer. I also have a terrible cold -- okay, an extremely unpleasant cold -- but I'm dealing with that. I did go to work today, sort of. I was there for the morning only, and for an hour of that I was at a meeting at the central office. When I got back, there were the movers, shelving more books, bringing in more furniture. I must say, if the principal et al. had bothered to share any information about the new library with us before we packed up the old, we would have brought a lot less stuff. We've always had random small tables and bookcases, and we brought them, but there's no place to put them now. Once again, I say that the new library may be bigger, as everyone says, but it has less functional space.

I did leave at noon, taking a half-personal day, and K and I rode over to the college to find out what was going on. Bottom line, she is accepted for the spring semester! Really, was that so hard? The chickie-poo in the grad school office was a little snot; all she wold say was that a decision was made, but she's not at liberty to tell K what it is. (!) But K checked online, using a computer right there in the grad office, and she found out. Fortunately, when we went to the education department after that, we found a wonderfully helpful woman who gave her lots of information, and she made an appointment to see her advisor next Tuesday. So all that is falling into place.

You would not believe what it's going to cost to fix the window in my car. Still, less than another car, but not by much, considering that I did once buy a car for $1000, and this is going to be a little more than half that. I won't have it until Thursday, or, since I'll have no way to get to the mechanic's Thursday night, probably Friday morning. I am really sick and tired of this car repair thing. It's endless.

What else can I tell you? I did walk up and down the aisles of the bookstacks this morning, touching books and saying hello. We also had to shift about half of the 800's, as we had told the movers to put them in the wrong place, and although I was bending and turning with handfuls of books and my back will probably get back at me for it later, it felt wonderful. Like I was finally doing my real work after all these months.

We do have a massive job ahead of us. There are literally dozens of boxes full of supplies and things that have to be put away, but at the moment, there's no place to put them. We have to make a plan, we have to figure it out. As for the circulation desk, I think it was designed by someone who had never been in a library and who had no idea what a circulation desk is. It's so wide (or is that deep?) that a person sitting behind it could not reach a book being held out by a patron standing in front of it. Which is pretty much what happens at a circulation desk, you know?

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Jeopardy
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here