the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Wednesday 1164

07.05.2006

1:52 pm

You must understand: part of me anticipates disaster at any moment. I think this is part of being a control freak; the hope that by managing -- okay, micro-managing -- every detail, I will stave off the disaster that awaits. That's just background. Actual disasters are very rare, you know.

So it's Wednesday, and I have the sense that this is the first real day of my vacation because K is off to her new job, which leaves me alone in the house, which is kind of relaxing. Of course, I've been expecting her to just come home any moment or call, sobbing, telling me she can't keep the job. Now, she is really quite competent, and will do a fine job once she's into it, but perhaps her high school illness and some of the attendant issues have left me with this lifelong fear that things will not go right for her. Anyway, the phone rang a couple of minutes ago and I saw her name in the caller ID and I got nervous, but she was only asking if we claim her as a dependent -- you betcha we do -- so she could fill out her forms over there. Yay. I don't expect to see her or hear from her again until after 7:00. With any luck.

I do hope to hear from the painters, so I can comfirm that they're starting next Monday. I have a couple of appointments to change once I know that's set, so I wish they would call back. But this is my curse, you know, so we'll see what happens.

I'm very sleepy. If they called, I could take a nap. Maybe I will anyway.

R got in at 11:30 Monday night, and made it out through luggage and customs in twenty minutes. We got home, etc., and I got to sleep maybe 1:00? Still haven't quite caught up. Yesterday was just a lazy day; the girls and I went out for coffee in the morning, but otherwise just watched videos and hung out. We did sit down to dinner together, the four of us, which is rare; I cooked up veggie burgers and dogs and such and had gotten salad. I ate corn on the cob, which I'll risk maybe once a year (since I'm not supposed to have it) and I drank a beer! It's true! I'm not taking that medication anymore that says not to drink alcohol (and I'm not a big drinker anyway), but I do like me a beer on July 4, at least. It seems the patriotic thing to do, somehow. (My father, you know, didn't drink at all, not since college, but my mother was known to enjoy a beer on a hot summer day. Yes, they were sometimes an interesting pair.)

I'm waiting to hear from R this evening about how her crazy roommate situation worked out. The two that were supposed to be gone at the end of last month ... well, I hope they are. R was away, of course, and the other roommate who's staying was also away for the long weekend. It'll turn out to be an interesting tale, I think.

I dropped by the high school this morning to chat with the Colleague and borrow a couple of textbooks K needs to study for one of her entrance exams. Everything is very jumbled up due to the construction; the office staff is occupying a classroom wing for the summer. Here's a rumor: you may recall the administrator that I had a couple of run-ins with this past year, a bully? He's applying for a promotion which would make him second only to the principal; in other words, in a position to bully more people (including me) full-time. Swell. I'm trying not to think about it until I have to.

Okay, I have a wash to go put in the dryer. Then it's naptime.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Twilight Zone (recorded)
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here