the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Where Was I? 1166

07.07.2006

5:59 pm

First, a great big MWAH! kiss to Cosmic, who has the best ideas! It took me a couple of hours to remember that my best Chum in the real world is a just-retired ART TEACHER, so I'm waiting to hear back from her to see if a little book-illustrating interests her at all. I'll let you know what happens.

So I've had to shuffle around a bunch of appointments since the painters are coming "sometime next week" -- thanks, guys -- which means I'm getting my nails done at 6:15 tonight (what an awful time) instead of next Tuesday morning, and I cancelled all my physical therapy for next week. Which is good, because it's not doing a damn bit of good and I'm not going anymore. I kept my orthopedist appointment for next Wednesday morning, and I'm just going to ask them for the cortisone shot, or whatever it is. Yes, I'm not too thrilled with that, but I understand it removes the pain immediately, and I'm all for that. Again, I'll let you know what happens.

So K is "employed", but doesn't have any hours to work until next Thursday and Saturday. In the meantime, we're hanging out. It would just be nice for her to have a destination every day. My destination is retirement, and that's what I'm training for. But she's got a long way to go for that; when you're 22, you need to work. And she will; she did get the job, after all, and it'll be a good one once it gets going.

I'm going to attempt to record streaming Internet radio tonight, as my nephew's show is on at 1 AM our time -- I believe I've gotten that right this time. I seem to have downloaded a program that will do it; if so, score another point for the Mac. Speaking of which, you Pogo folk out there: do any of those games work on a Mac? I'm not interested in the badges and stuff, I'm not a very good game player; I'm just looking for some amusement here and there. A lot of the free online games I've tried just don't work, and nothing is downloadable for the Mac that I've found so far. I did get a game to work in the Safari browser, but that's it.

Okay, time to post and go get a mani.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching MASH
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here