the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

It Must Be ... 1225

09.05.2006

3:37 pm



Tuesday. Or Belgium or something. Hi.

My doctor says that his blood pressure should be as good as mine, which means I'm on the right meds and not otherwise bothered by anything. He did not know about my appendectomy, but looked through my file for any mention of it and it wasn't there. So I blame the office staff once again. Whatever notification they got should have been put on his desk and then filed, not lost.

Turns out I didn't watch The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe yesterday because I watched the whole season 3 of Arrested Development instead. Or did I watch that on Sunday? Right, yesterday I watched the SVU marathon. It's so hard to keep track.

I emailed the imaginary gym last night to make sure they had me on their mailing list for when they open, and I got a phone call today to set up my starting-up appointment with a personal trainer. I'm going on September 22; they expect to open that weekend or the following week. I'm psyched. Now if only I could lose 30 pounds by then so I don't walk in looking like a total hopeless loser. Maybe I can have some of the heavier organs removed by then. If nothing else, it's an incentive to go back to eating a little better.

I talked to a friend this morning who's a low level administrator at school and who's already back at work and he says that the mess there is pretty much what I'd expect. He's not surprised that I know nothing at all about the opening of the new library; he's supposed to have four new classrooms to work with but they haven't told him if he does or not so he doesn't know if he can schedule teachers into them or not and this has to be done and schedules printed for Thursday. Well, I didn't think it was just me.

In a way, the fall season really begins today around here, since the Hubs goes back to teaching his class tonight, and will do that most Tuesdays and Thursdays until Christmas. I'm very glad he's giving it up after this semester, because it's the timing and the driving that suck. It's maybe an hour away, and the class ends at 9:45. And he gets up for work tomorrow at 5:00. Getting too old for this, buddy!

K is working late tonight, too, and the class she's taking is on Thursdays, so I'm looking at some alone time coming up this fall. Hope I can make that into some useful gym time. I wish I could get started there already!




--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Dr. Phil
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here