the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Chillin' 1240

09.21.2006

7:21 pm


It was a relatively ordinary day, for whatever that's worth, although I got into school today at 6:45 -- that's in the a.m. -- because I had to print all the I.D. cards I took yesterday after school before 7:30, so I could take more. The camera, an older one without a memory card, only holds 44 pictures at a time, and it was full.

I did get a chance to talk to our psuedo-secretary, and told her that I hope she knew I wasn't asking her to do anything outside of her contract, and she said, Oh, of course. Whatever, one more person not to be trusted. I'm over it.

I had a WONDERFUL dinner with the Chum just before. She's going down to see her mother in Florida next week, and will be back and forth in the future, I fear, but I'll certainly be seeing more of her now that she's headquartered back in New Jersey again.

And then I got home and got an email from the SCM that he won't be in tomorrow. Why is it that I never believe him anymore when he says he's sick? That's probably not nice of me, but I always just figure he's taking a long weekend in Vermont, where he now has a second home. How come all these people have second homes? How do they do that?

So tomorrow could be hectic here and there. Although they are letting the kids out early because


  1. It is erev Rosh Hashonah, which means that Rosh Hashonah, a seriously important Jewish holiday, starts at sundown, and

  2. There is an away football game scheduled for after school, which has now been moved to 2:00 so that it won't interfere with said holiday, and

  3. They are letting all the kids out at 1:00 and providing buses for them to the game, although very few kids are actually going, possibly because our team hasn't won a game in three years.

There are so many things wrong with this that I can't even begin to describe them. The Jewish Holidays, so-called, are the two days of Rosh Hashonah, followed a week or so later by Yom Kippur (which is really the big one), and normally we do not have school on those days. This year, RH is on a weekend. How does this impact a football game? Personally, I think that if the game interferes with anyone's observance of the holiday, then they won't go to the game. I don't see why or how it leads to the conclusion it led to. It's not as if sundown is at 4:00 and people can't get home in time. It's also not as if anyone playing in or spectating at the game has to go home and cook the big meal.

I'm just saying.

(And staff, btw, does not get out early. We get a couple of hours in school with no kids. Whatever.)

And tomorrow, I am going to the gym! Really! It's my startup appointment, and they're going to weigh me and take my measurements and stuff. HAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!




--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Raymond
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here