the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Catch-Up Mode 1247

09.29.2006

6:30 pm

I just managed to get all the bills paid, since I only realized yesterday that the end of the month is ... tomorrow, gee. So I'm caught up there. I also made a dentist appointment for Tuesday, planned a mammogram for November with my sister, deposited a check at the bank, and ... well, that's enough.

So I finally did manage to finish that test at the gym, but not quite in the way I had hoped. When I went on Wednesday, they assigned this adorable little boy trainer to stick to me like velcro throughout the whole thing. He looked like he was twelve, and was very sweet. But the place is very, very new, and they're all still learning how the computer programs work. (In the English teaching biz, we call that foreshadowing.) Neither he nor my original trainer, the very Russian Elena, who is clearly above him in rank, could figure out how to test my on the recumbent bike, so I went back to the treadmill. Little Jason was very worried that the grade would increase and be too steep for me, and offered every five seconds to bring it down, but I persevered, and managed to reach 125 heartbeats per minute in eight or nine minutes. But instead of slowing me down right away, it increased the grade and difficulty. Jason said he would pull the key -- on which my test was being recorded -- out of the machine to stop it, and I huffed "Don't pull it out" but after a minute or two more, he panicked a bit, pulled it out, and pressed stop. And the readout said, of course, TEST CANCELLED. But I did it!

So I left the key with them and they're figuring out some way to program it manually, since he knows my test results. If necessary, he'll take the test on my key to get a test on file, and then they'll re-adjust the results to match mine. None of them could believe that I wasn't angry, but I don't know why, really. They're learning; the place wasn't even officially open until the next day. The one thing I do know is that you don't pull computer media out of the system while it's being written to. That's on my turf, after all.

And then I took a ten-minute abs class cleverly called "Waist Management." I did what I could, which was about half of it. I like the instructor very much, who is the boss of the whole place, I think. Tomorrow I'm going to try a balance class, and the abs class again right after it with another instructor, so I can get my feel for the different things they offer. I watched the end of a spinning class before the abs thing, and, not that I would give that a second thought, but Little Jason said "Oh no, that's dangerous" and I figure he's pretty right on target about that, so no spinning for me.

Oh, I also went to the orthopedist yesterday, who says that my tendonitis is better than last time, and he gave me a second brace to switch off with, and gave me a much better picture of what I can and should do to help it and not hurt it. Did I do those exercises today? Not exactly yet. The new season of Degrassi is starting tonight, so I can flex while I watch.

Didja watch Ugly Betty last night? Whadja think?




--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Friends
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here